# UPM NOUS CTCC FEBRUARY, 2008

#### Volume 8, Issue 1

## **UPM OFFICERS**

PRESIDENT: Bryce Andersen Home: 651.438.3479 Cell: 651.246.0480

VICE PRESIDENT: Bill Suchy Home: 651.457.4463 Cell: 651.247.5466

TREASURER: Wayne Muller Home: 507.831.5932 Cell: 507.920.9751

SECRETARY: Penny Dietzel Home: 952.466.2753 Cell: 612.202.9933 Fax: 1.800.322.9789 Email: reigndeere@netzero.com

#### HEAD TECH OFFICIAL:

Dale Quamme Home: 651.423.6371 Cell: 612.810.3329 Email: ntpar3@aol.com

ENTRY CLERK: Karen Gamradt Home: 320.352.6194 Cell: 320.267.7332 Or 320.761.2198



### WWW.upmpullers.com

# **Banquet Highlights:**

We hosted UPM and both Region 3 and 5 this year for the banquet. It went really well. It was at the South St Paul Hotel and Conference Center.

Doug Christensen won the TWD class, Kay Gueningsman won the FWD class, Jeff Gueningsman won the MOD class, Randy Becker won the SS class, Dan / Ernie Lange won the SF class, Dean Holicky won the SSFWD class, Kevin Schultz won the PF class, and Scott Rosenberg won the PSS class. The top 3 winners received jackets and plaques.

Special Awards were also done that night: These are voted on by the membership: Dan and Ernie Lange won 2007 Puller of the Year. New Germany won the 2007 State Pull of the Year. Isaac Conway won the 2007 Rookie of the Year Don Storjohann won the 2007 Most Improved Puller of the Year. Pack Rat Pulling Team got the 2007 Sportsman of the Year award.

#### Region 3 awards:

Al Norby won the LGT SS class, Brian Korth won the HVY SS class, Ernie and Dan Lange won the SF class, Kyloe Knapp won the TWD class, Mark Mangan won the FWD class, Jeff Gueningsman won the MOD class, and Jack Kielmeyer won the PSS class. The top 3 winners received a plaque.

Region 5 awards:

Rich Thomsen won the FWDclass, Kevin Rochon won the SF class, Chuck Knapp won the TWD class, Jack Kielmeyer won the MOD class, Brian Korth won the HVS SS class, and Jack Kielmeyer won the PSS class. The top 3 winners received a plaque.

New Hampton, IA won 2007 Region 5 Pull of the Year Ottertail , MN won the 2007 UPM Region Pull of the Year Ottertail, MN also won the 2007 Region 3 Pull of the Year



2008

MINNESOTA REGION 3

June 13 Friday	7:00 PM	Ottertail, MN R3	MINI (GN), SF, FWD, TWD, MOD, PSS, PF(ST)
June 14 Saturday	7:00 PM	Ottertail, MN R3	MINI (GN0, SF, FWD, TWD, MOD, PSS, PF(ST)
July 11 Friday	8:00 PM		TWD, MOD, SF, SSD (INV), PSS (ST)
July 12 Saturday	8:00 pm		TWD, MOD, SF, SSD (INV), PSS (ST)
July 18 Friday	7:00 PM	Faribault, MN R3	TWD, MOD, FWD, SF, PSS
July 24 Thursday	6:30 PM	Anoka, MN R3	MOD, TWD, FWD, HVYSS (ST), PF (ST)
July 25 Friday	6:30 PM	Anoka, MN R3	MOD, TWD, FWD, HVYSS, SF (ST)
August 15 Friday	7:00 PM	Corcoran, MN R3	MOD, TWD, SF, FWD, PF (ST), PSS (ST)

#### **UPM SCHEDULE**

May 31 June 14	Saturday Saturday	7:00 PM 7:00 PM	Houston Dorchester, WI		TWD, HVYSS, SF, PF SSFWD (\$1900 Raised Purse) MN Points
July 3	Thursday	7:00 PM	Eitzen	State	TWD, MOD, FWD, HVYSS, SF, SSFWD, PF, PSS
July 4	Friday	4:00 PM	St Peter,	State	TWD, MOD, FWD, HVYSS, SF, SSFWD, PF, PSS
July 12	Saturday	7:00 PM	St Charles	State	FWD, SSFWD, PF, (LGTSS—tentative no points)
July 19	Saturday	7:00 PM	Canby	State	PF, SSFWD, PSS, SF (Inv—tentative no points)
July 27	Sunday	2:00 PM	Waseca	State	TWD, SF, PF
July 31	Thursday	7:00 PM	Garden City	State	HVYSS, MOD, SF, TWD
August 1	Friday	7:00 PM	New Germany	State	TWD, MOD, FWD, HVYSS, SF, SSFWD, PF, PSS
August 2	Saturday	7:00 PM	Proctor	State	SSFWD, PF, PSS
August 5	Tuesday	6:30 PM	Redwood Falls	State	TWD, MOD, FWD, HVYSS, SF, SSFWD, PF, PSS
August 6	Wednesda	y 7:00 PM	Pipestone	State	TWD, SF, HVYSS, PF, MOD
August 7	Thursday	7:30 PM	St Peter	State	TWD, MOD, SSFWD, SF, PF
August 8	Friday	6:30 PM	Waconia	State	MOD, FWD, SF, PSS
August 10	Sunday	3:00 PM	Marshall	State	MOD, SF, SSFWD, PSS, PF
August 16	Saturday	7:00 PM	LeCenter	State	PF, SSFWD, SF, PSS
August 23	Saturday	7:00 PM	Howard Lake	State	SF, SSFWD, PSS, PF

\*\*\*\*NOTE: For RAINOUTS or IF YOU ARE GOING TO BE LATE please CALL one of these 4 people ONLY so that we can get you registered and have someone available to tech your vehicle upon arrival. ENTRY WILL BE CLOSED ONE HOUR BEFORE the event is going to start. \*\*\*\* These numbers will be posted on the website also.

BRYCE ANDERSEN 651.246.0480 DALE QUAMME 612.810.3329 PENNY DIETZEL 612.202.9933 KAREN GAMRADT 320.761.2198 OR 320.267.7332

These are our cell phone numbers were we can be reached at all times!!!! NO EXCUSE for not being able to get a hold of us. If don't answer right away leave a message and we will get back to you if need to!!!!!

For those of you who need your clutches inspected before the start of the season need to contact these clutch inspectors for Minnesota:

Dale Quamme 651.423.6371, Orville Deling 507.238.1903, Darrin Dietzel 952.466.2753, Mark Gamradt 320.267.7332. These names and numbers will be posted on the website.



## **Banquet Highlights:**

Continued from page 1

UPM also had their 20th Anniversary celebration. Ken Lamping got up and spoke on the history of UPM when it started and how we got the name UPM. It was a very interesting talk. Dave Shrier also got up and talked for a little bit as he helped get the state of Minnesota started. We invited past presidents, secretaries, treasurers, etc. It was a great time and we had a packed banquet room.

We had a hospitality room after all the festivities were done, watched videos etc of past years and of the current years.

# **Bio Diesel sponsorship:**

We are doing this sponsorship with Bio Diesel again this year. The July 4th Pull in St Peter will be called 4th of July Biodiesel Freedom Pull in which they will furnish the B10 fuel at no cost for all diesel trucks and tractors. The fuel will also be available at selected pulls wherever feasible.

They are offering the trailer wrap again this year but for 10 trailers. You will receive \$3500.00 if you have the wrap applied to your trailer. The only way that you will receive the money is: you must have a diesel pulling vehicle, an enclosed trailer and 100% support at the pulls that have diesel vehicles.

If interested in doing the Biodiesel trailer wrap on your trailer contact Bryce Andersen at 651.246.0480 and or Penny Dietzel at 612.202.9933 or email: reigndeere@netzero.com

The Minnesota Soybean Research and Promotion council would like to thank all of last years participants, and organizers of the events. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK GUYS!!! This is how we get sponsorships and how they keep coming back.

## **Announcements:**



There was a new baby born this year to one of our new Tech Officials:

Terry and Rachel Galle of Buffalo would like to announce the arrival of Abbigail Rose who was born on Monday , February 4 at 3:07 am. Weighing in at 6 lbs 14 oz and was 20 inches long. Congratulations!!!!!

# **Next Newsletter:**

The next newsletter will be out sometime in May with updates and changes.

I will be happy to print any announcement or ad for our members. Please email them to Penny at reigndeere@netzero.com or call me and I will get it in the newsletter and the website.